ROP

North Orange County Regional Occupational Program (NOCROP)
 
The Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District also partners with the North Orange County Regional Occupational Program (NOCROP) to offer other Career Technical Education Courses.
 

What are the Three Types of ROP Classes That Students Can Take?


REGULAR ROP CLASSES – These classes don’t have any work component. Students earn 1 credit for every 15 hours they spend in the classroom.


(CC) COMMUNITY CLASSROOM ROP – Students enrolled in these classes who successfully complete the classroom work may be placed on the job 8-30 hours per week without pay to gain experience and a good recommendation. Students earn 1 credit for every 15 hours in the classroom or on the job.


(CVE) COOPERATIVE VOCATIONAL EDUCATION ROP – This ROP class can only be taken by seniors. Students attend one weekly 3-hour class with an instructor. They must have a job for which they earn money. Students receive 1 credit for every 15 hours of class and 1 credit for every 30 hours of work. Students must turn in a time card each week to certify their work hours. A student can miss no more than two class meetings the entire semester.

 

How To Enroll In ROP


To enroll in a ROP course students must be 16 years of age. Enrollment preference is given in order to Seniors, Juniors, and Sophomores. See your counselor to sign up for classes or for additional information. New ROP catalogs listing course offerings are updated in the fall, spring, and summer on NOCROP’s website. Students may also take courses offered by other districts in Orange County. Students must provide their own transportation. See all available courses here: https://www.nocrop.org/students/schools/regional-course-offerings.html
 
ROP Counselors
Click on the site's link below to view ROP offerings at each site.
Site Counselor Email
Buena Vista Virtual Academy Sarah Miller smiller@pylusd.org
El Camino Amanda Boggs aboggs@pylusd.org
El Dorado Tempa Davidson tdavidson@pylusd.org
Esperanza Brianne Gullotti bgullotti@pylusd.org
Valencia Carolyn Douglas cdouglas@pylusd.org
Yorba Linda Nancy Coulter ncoulter@pylusd.org